top of page
Search

Laura and Jacob - Blackfriars, Gloucester

Updated: Feb 26

Early Spring Wedding - 31st March 2023


My first wedding of the year but also my first wedding ever- my lovely sister asked me to create her wedding flowers, very honoured I said yes without really knowing what I was doing.


I know how to grow flowers, to condition them, whilst growing, to help them flourish but once cut I really didn't know how to take care of them or how to keep them alive long enough for the photos to look good.


My sister and husband to be, Jacob, chose Blackfriars Priory as their wedding venue. Quite a moody, gothic feel- it has a captivating atmosphere which shouted trendy and stylish- I'm neither of those but it did inspire me to think that Laura could pull of something very original and stylish.


I found a local Flower Farmer, Michelle, from Page Green flowers based near Cricklade. I am very lucky that she is one of the most supportive and warm people I have met in the flower growing industry, which is saying something as its such a friendly open industry.


Michelle helped me figure out what flowers were going to be in season and how we could use them for the personals and the venue alongside Laura and Jacob's colour scheme.


The Hellebore was going to be the star but any Florist knows that the hellebore is a high maintenance flower to condition and loves to wilt- to say I was nervous was an understatement. But the lovely Michelle taught me how to condition them and then conditioned them herself for me so I didn't need to worry.


The Venue itself is huge- high stone walls but with a lot of charm. So for the venue its self I created a couple of churns and then the table decorations.



In loved the churns with the yellow from the Forsythia - so fresh and gorgeous with the dark green foliage.


Hellebores were again the start of the tables - I was really pleased with how they turned out.



Photography: Dearest Love Photography


Overall I was really pleased with the flowers and I learned a lot around stem counts, logistics and timings- it was such a great experience and one I will always think fondly of- plus I was also a bridesmaid and got to see my sister marry her best friend.



Photography: Dearest Love Photography

5 views0 comments

תגובות


bottom of page