top of page
Search

Autumnal dried flower wedding

I have been very lucky this year to have two weddings of both my sister and my husbands' brother. I had the honour of creating their flowers for their special day.




This one was an exciting one as the brief was big and Charlie and Hannah wanted to use a lot of dried flowers. I, at this point, had never designed anything with dried flowers and so I was excited to learn and I am very grateful to them both for putting their trust into me.


The venue was Ramster Hall in Surrey which is still family owned and they rent out a couple of spaces for weddings, you can have your civil ceremony there. The venue was stunning, an old almost arts and craft style hall with lots of dark wood and traditional features- perfect for the bright oranges and rust colours that Hannah and Charlie liked.


They chose round tables with half of the tables having pillar centrepiece and the others with a low centrepiece to add some interest. They had also asked for a flower arch inside the venue- which was so people could really get a view of it and the weather was a bit damp!


The bouquet had a mix of fresh and dried flowers, the fresh I used Roses, Dahlias, Cosmos and Amaranthus Cruentus. Dried I had Ruscus, thistle and an oat type of grass.




The fresh flowers were supplied by Kate at Field Flowers Haslemere whose flower farm was 5 minutes from the venue which was brilliant. She was incredibly helpful and her flowers were of such good quality- I would highly recommend her.


The dried flowers came from Barn florist and their site had so much choice it actually was quite hard to figure out what I wanted so much so I made a last minute second order.


The plan for the venue was an arch, table centres and then a installations on the two fireplaces in the hall. However when I arrived, I don't live locally, I noticed that the wood of the fireplace was varnished and they were HUGE- we decided that we didn't need the full fireplaces and so I made a corner piece on one of them. One part of being a florist can be working quickly to abort plans and make new ones- its really a part of the job I really enjoy.




Overall the 'Vision' Hannah and Charlie pulled together really well and I was really pleased with the end result of using fresh with dried flowers- was a very fun brief and I got to enjoy the flowers as a guest (once I stopped scrutinising my own work!)


Thanks you Hannah and Charlie

Xx


Photos. Murray Clarke Photography



1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page